; Adam Bello, County Executive


COVID-19 Information

Temporary Absence Payment Policy for Providers

MCDHS will make subsidy payments to the following eligible providers during the recovery period on behalf of a child who is temporarily absent from child care due to extenuating circumstances due to the effects of COVID-19.

The maximum total number of paid absences will be 22 for July 1st through July 31st, 2021.  Payment of absences will apply to the following program types: Day Care Center, Group Family Day Care, Family Day Care, Legally-Exempt Group and School Age Child Care. Please note, no payment can be made for program closures. EFFECTIVE JULY 31st, WAIVERS EXPIRE AND ABSENCES AFTER AUGUST 1ST WILL BE PAID ACCORDING TO OUR APPROVED DAY CARE PLAN (3 PER MONTH OR 18 IN A 6-MONTH BASE PERIOD)

Providers should clearly note, in CCTA or on attendance sheets, the days the child was scheduled to be in care but was not due to illness.

Temporary Waiver of Parent Fees

Since April 6, 2020, weekly parent fees for current subsidy recipients have been waived. Families will not be required to pay their weekly share for care directly to their provider in the month of July 2021. Payments issued to providers for care provided during these months will not have the weekly parent share deducted from the subsidy payment issued. NOTE: EFFECTIVE JULY 31st, WAIVERS EXPIRE AND PARENT FEES ARE DUE STARTING THE FIRST WEEK OF AUGUST. PAYMENTS ISSUED IN SEPTEMBER FOR AUGUST CARE WILL HAVE THE PARENT SHARE DEDUCTED.

Governor Cuomo Announces $30 Million in Child Care Scholarships for Essential Workers and Supplies for Child Care Providers

New York State Will Apply Federal CARES Funding to Provide Child Care and Keep Essential Staff on the Job

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that New York State will provide child care scholarships to all essential workers starting Monday, April 20. Essential workers include first responders such as health care providers, pharmaceutical staff, law enforcement, firefighters, food delivery workers, grocery store employees and others who are needed to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. Child care costs will be covered with $30 million in federal CARES Act funding to essential staff whose income is less than 300 percent of the federal poverty level – or $78,600 for a family of four – and will be paid up to market rate for each region statewide.

Scholarships are available through the Child Care Council.

View Application For Scholarship

Image of child on swingDaycare Qualifications

Families with adults who are working, but are earning lower incomes, might qualify for a daycare subsidy. Families with income levels falling within a specific range are eligible.

To apply for a daycare subsidy please click on the "Child Care Application" link below or call the DHS Application Line 585-753-6960 to request a Child Care Application packet. Complete the application, child care request, work schedule and absent parent form (if applicable) and send it to:

Department of Human Services
111 Westfall Rd.
Rochester, NY  14620
Attn:  Team 76 – Child Care

For Providers:

Families who are currently receiving Temporary Assistance should continue to work with their assigned workgroup.

NEW! Upstate Revitalization Initiative (URI) Day Care Subsidy Program

This new funding, administered through the Monroe County Department of Human Services (DHS) will provide market rate child care reimbursement to job training participants for the duration of the program and for up to three months following its completion. This window allows participants enough time to secure employment.

The goals of this expansion are to increase enrollment in training programs targeted toward individuals living in poverty; reduce dropout rates; reduce poverty through increased educational attainment; and reduce the gap in child care subsidies for families not eligible for public assistance or Income Eligible Day Care.

To be eligible, participants must:

  • Have at least one dependent child under the age of 13
  • Have a household income of less than 275% of the federal poverty level
  • Be enrolled in any approved training program that is expected to yield full-time employment in a sector currently in-demand or supported by other Finger Lakes Regional Economic Development Council projects

The current Day Care application and child care request form (above) should be used when applying for this funding.

Daycare Tips for Providers and Parents

Tips for Providers

  • Daycare subsidies can only be paid for actual daycare services provided. Monroe County cannot pay for “slots” or transportation provided by you.
  • Make sure your attendance sheets are filled out completely and accurately before asking the parent to sign their approval. You should never ask a parent to sign a blank attendance sheet.
  • Attendance sheets should be signed by you and the parent before submitting them to Monroe County. Submitting unsigned attendance sheets could delay payment.
  • Attendance sheets should reflect the actual time of day that care begins and ends. If a child did not attend daycare due to illness, vacation, or any other reason, that child should be marked on the attendance sheet as absent for that day. Monroe County’s approved Child Care Plan does not allow payment for absences.
  • If you ask parents to sign a contract for your daycare services, please understand that Monroe County is not a party to that contract and therefore is not responsible for compliance with the terms of that contract.
  • If a child in your care attends another program (such as Universal Pre-K) you cannot bill the daycare subsidy program for the same hours the child spends in the other program.
  • Overpayments due to billing errors on your part will require repayment back to Monroe County. Intentional misrepresentation of daycare services provided could result in disqualification from receiving daycare subsidy payments, licensing sanctions, or prosecution for fraud.
  • If a parent is required by Monroe County to pay a weekly parent fee, you must collect the parent fee directly from the parent. Failure to collect the weekly parent fee may adversely impact your ability to receive future payments from Monroe County.

Tips for Parents

  • Monroe County can only pay for actual daycare services provided, and only for care during the hours of your employment or your participation in an approved activity (plus a maximum of 60 minutes of travel to and from your job or activity). You will be liable for payment to your provider for any care not billable to the subsidy program.
  • Only sign an attendance sheet after your provider has filled it out completely and accurately. Attendance sheets are used to bill Monroe County for daycare services provided to your child, therefore you and your provider are responsible for the attendance sheet’s accuracy and completeness. Never sign a blank attendance sheet.
  • If you sign a contract with your provider for daycare services, please understand that Monroe County is not a party to that contract and therefore is not responsible for compliance with the terms of that contract. You will be liable for payment to your provider for any care that is not billable to the subsidy program.
  • Monroe County cannot pay for any daycare absences, whether due to illness, vacation, or program closures.
  • You must notify Monroe County within ten (10) days of any changes that may affect your subsidy case (change in income, household composition, address, employment, etc). Overpayments resulting from a failure to notify us of changes will need to be repaid by you to Monroe County. Intentional misrepresentations may lead to program sanctions or prosecution for fraud.

Daycare Tips for Providers and Parents

Day Care Vendor Information

Child Care Time and Attendance (CCTA)

In collaboration with the Monroe County Department of Human Services, the NYS Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) deployed and implemented the Internet-based Child Care Time and Attendance (CCTA) tracking system in July 2011.  In the time since that initial implementation, we and OCFS have worked with the application developer to improve and enhance the system’s capability.

With a long list of system enhancements now up and running, we wanted to take this opportunity to invite you become a new user of the CCTA system.  There are a number of benefits to using the CCTA system, including:

  • On-line submission of attendance – no more paper time sheets;
  • Real-time information on new authorizations, changes, or discontinuances;
  • Accurate calculation of subsidy payments;
  • On-line information of pending and processed payments – no more telephone calls.

Signing up as a new user is easy.  Simply sign the enclosed User Agreement and tell us who the primary system user will be (you can register others, but for now just tell us the primary user).  With that information, we will give you a verification code for you to log-on and self-register. Please click on the links below for more information. 

Other Vendor Forms:

  print this page    email this page    back to top

Accessibility and Standards · Disclaimer and Privacy Policy · Non-Discrimination Policy

Official Site of Monroe County, New York. Copyright © 2019 Monroe County. All Rights Reserved.
Comments or suggestions? Please Contact Us